Fit by 40??

The intent of my blog is to tell the story of how I will become a real farm girl by my 40th birthday. This new (sort of) venture is currently a work-in-progress, and I’m sure I’ll get into that as I continue to write.

In the meantime, my main concern at the moment is my health. I’ve noticed swelling in my feet and ankles over the last several days, and I know I’m obese with possible high blood pressure. I finally went to the local pharmacy and checked my blood pressure at the free testing machine. Yikes! 155/96 is quite a bit higher than the typical 120/80 most physicians like to see. Then I forced myself to do a quick weigh-in at the scale by the door. As soon as I had a brief moment of privacy, I hopped on to discover the horrific 250 pound mark. I’m at my all-time high as far as my weight is concerned.

Time to make a new plan, Stan! To start on the path to creating new healthy habits, I want to focus mainly on increasing my daily activity and minimizing processed foods. My personal goal is to do something active for at least 30 minutes per day, every day. This may include walking, bicycling, WII Fit Plus exercises, Just Dance, or playing outside with my kids. I will have to schedule it in my calender, as though it is an appointment, in order to make sure it happens.

I have a lot to learn when it comes to food. After watching “Food, Inc” and other such documentaries, I’ve become very aware of how careful we need to be with what we put in our bodies. I’ve actually become kind of a “food-aphobe” and actually experience anxiety when entering grocery stores. Rather than trying fad diets, low-carb, or whatever else is out there, I’m going to start with lessening my processed foods intake. I can’t say that I’m ready to cut them out completely… Not just yet. But I do know there are real health risks associated with so many of the chemicals and unpronounceable ingredients found on these boxes and packages.

I will continue to take my daily vitamin and add an extra B-complex to the mix in hopes of gaining some extra energy.

I’m hoping to make these changes in order to make my body stronger so that I can not only feel and look better, but so that I am more ready to tackle the physical labor involved in running a family farm. There will be a lot of work ahead of me: construction, digging up garden beds, planting trees, taking care of multiple animals, keeping up with my husband and three boys… I need to build up my endurance, and I know I will by making small changes in the right direction.

One response to this post.

  1. Great Job, Kris! I am so proud of you! I’ve been in that place, looking at the scale in disbelief! Let me know if there is any way I can support you in your journey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

