Well on my way!!

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything on this site, but I’m planning on changing that.  I guess I need to get everyone caught up here…

Well, we did it!  We are officially moved in to the new house in North Carolina.  I’m pretty impressed at our progress considering we really don’t have very many boxes left to unpack.  There are a collection of “Books” boxes because we’re waiting for bookshelves or bookcases.  Every time I go to a thrift store, I check.  So far, nothing.

I LOVE our house!  The kitchen is so roomy…  Nice counter space for projects like canning, soap making, and baking.  It will also be the heart of our home school, Earth Tone Academy, which is officially registered with the State of North Carolina and scheduled to start Monday, January 9.

Our property is absolutely gorgeous – very wooded.  One of the things I’m currently working on is clearing out the scrub trees that have popped up between the bigger, more mature trees.  A friend told me that we’d have a hard time getting back there come springtime because the brambles would start emerging and use all the smaller trees as creeping structure.  I feel a little bad cutting back the babies, but I figure they won’t grow very well with all the other trees around them anyway.  I do enjoy the time outside and the upper body workout I get from using the loppers.  Next on my list of farming skills:  how to sharpen my loppers!  And for the first time ever, I actually want a chainsaw for my birthday!  Hint-hint…  Anyone?  It’s in June!  ;o)

At this time, our rabbits and birds are still at our friend’s house where the kids and I had stayed right after we left Florida.  She has been absolutely wonderful about it, but enough is enough…  It’s time for us to relieve her of her animal duties.  We found a shed at Lowe’s that should house the rabbits well enough, so we’ll be picking that up this week.  We’ll probably see if we can get the chickens and ducks in there for now, too, until we can put together a better coop.  It will be nice having them back with us as we’ve really been missing our girls’ fresh eggs.

I’m really excited to announce the addition of Penelope, our very first Nubian dairy goat.  I had originally wanted two, but the farmer was only able to hold one for me by the time I got there.  She was only three days old when we got her, and it was a bit of a struggle to bottle feed her at first.  Then one day her appetite kicked in, and she’s been downing her milk every since.

Because goats are herd animals, they aren’t really programmed to be out by themselves.  I’ve been trying to find her a sister, but so far I’ve had no luck.  She doesn’t mind, though, because she is currently a house goat!  As I’m typing this post, she is curled up on a chair, sleeping like a cat.  I don’t know if you can actually house train a goat, but we’re trying.  We did go into this whole house goat thing with the understanding that a serious carpet cleaning will be in order by springtime!

I’ll be sure to get some photos included in my next blog, but I did want to get something out here to start out the new year.  Happy 2012, everyone!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary O on January 5, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Awesome Kris! It sounds like you guys are at home already! Enjoy the seasons 🙂

    Reply

  2. I can not tell you how happy I am for you all that you are finally living the dream! Good job on breaking the silence and getting a new blog post out there! I am going to try to do the same today. Wish me luck! How often would you like to blog? Weekly? That would be my goal.

    Reply

  3. Thank you for the inspiration to blog again! I’ve been really wanting to,, and you helped me to take action. I can’t wait to read your blog! I’d like to blog at least once a week… I may go for twice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

