I did it!

Today is the big day…  Yup, I am officially 40.  And you know what else?  I’m a farm girl!  Oh, don’t get me wrong…  I still have a ways to go, but I’ve had a great start!  At this time we are enjoying two acres, most of them woods, with a paddock housing our current eclectic herd that currently includes three Nubian dairy goats about six months old, one dear donkey named Phoebe who is a total lovey, our mare Ladybug whom you’ve read about previously, and our newest mare Eve whom I’m hoping to be riding in the next couple of months.  We have lost some birds to predators lately, so we’re down to two male ducks, one silkie rooster, and six hens, plus our oldest son has a pair of silkies that he plans to breed.  I am also raising seven blue slate turkeys who are almost two months old.  I’m hoping they will be ready to harvest in time for Thanksgiving.

Aside from the animals, I’ve also started a garden.  I’m kind of going about it like a patchwork quilt:  a little bit at a time, piece by piece. I am currently growing sweet potatoes, various tomatoes, a squash, okra, blueberries, raspberries and black berries.  I need to add some more and start planning my fall garden.  I’ve committed to having a home grown Thanksgiving this year, so we will only be eating things we grew ourselves, raised ourselves or bartered for.  It will be a great experience!

Over the next year, I hope to blog more consistently and reach a few more goals.  I’d like to see our chicken coop and run completed, and I need to build something for the turkeys.  They are outgrowing their current cage and really stinking up my laundry room!  I’d like to increase the size of the paddock and have the goat pasture completed so that Phoebe and the girls can move down there sooner.  I want to build a milking stand for the goats and start training them to go up there twice a day in order to make future milking an easier process.  I also want to increase my gardening skills and plant a few more fruit trees.  Whew!  Lofty goals, so keep me accountable, folks!  I’m going to need a cheering committee!

I’ll get better about posting pics, too!  :o)  Thanks so much for reading!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary O on June 29, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Happy Birthday to you!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Progressive Homemaker on July 2, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    I am so proud of you, Sis! You did it. You set out to fulfill a dream and you did it. you’re my hero.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

