Mmmmmm… Apple Sauce!

Thanks to my neighbor and new friend Connie, I have had a surplus of apples around here.  After helping her peel a mess of apples last week, she had given me a bunch of apples and her apple sauce recipe that she found on line.  We increased the ingredients to yield enough to put some jars up to enjoy later.

First Step:  Peel and slice your apples:

Second Step:  Mix apples with water, sugar and cinnamon and cook until apples are soft:

Third Step:  Once apples are soft, smash them with a potato masher until they reach a consistency that you find pleasing:

Now you can serve it warm or stick it in the refrigerator to serve chilled.  I bet this recipe would be amazing over vanilla ice cream!!  If you like, you can go ahead and can them to enjoy later.  I have chosen to do that since I am committed to have a home grown Thanksgiving this year.  I will be sure to blog more about that subject down the road.  Now I know that if I have nothing else, my family can enjoy home made apple sauce November 22, 2012.

Recipe:

28 apples
5 1/4 cups of water
1 3/4 cups of sugar
4 teaspoons of cinnamon
(These quantities made the 3 jars you see above)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Progressive Homemaker on July 2, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    What a wonderful idea! A homegrown/procured Thanksgiving! Now that’s something to be thankful for!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

