Food Documentaries Keep Me Inspired

It’s been a while since I watched a documentary on Netflix, so I decided to flip through some tonight.  “Genetic Chile” caught my eye and reminded me why I’m doing what I’m doing.  Food freedom.  

This particular film focused on the New Mexico chile pepper and New Mexico State University’s research into genetically modifying it.  The film maker shares good information about GMOs and the concerns that many people, farmers, and scientists have about these products.

If you’re not sure what Genetically Modified Organisms are or what they could mean for your family’s health or even the health of the planet, please do your research.  Keep informed.  Support your local farmers and farmers markets and know what you are putting into your bodies.  Check out this film’s website at http://www.genetic-chile.com for some links to other resources you may find interesting.

My mom told me the other day that she doesn’t want to know about GMOs, organics, food safety, or any of that stuff because she said she couldn’t afford the “good stuff.”  Why be aware of something you cannot change.  That made me sad to think about and made me wonder how many other people feel the same way.  

Do you think it’s better to be uninformed?  Do you think it’s possible to eat more naturally, locally, healthfully without having to break the bank?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Farmgirlby40, I think you are dead on! I have friends and family that say they cannot afford the “healthy stuff” so they just don’t care. Yet, they find the $$ for frequent co-pays when they have to go to the MD for unexpected sick visits, they find the $$ for bad habits, for shopping trips, etc.

    I am not saying these friends are bad people, I am simply saying we “choose” where we spend our money. If we CHOOSE less healthy, less expensive, “more convenient” choices now. Then the chances are greater we will need to FIND THE TIME AND MONEY later to pay the doctors for the choices we made “back when”. 😦

    Thank you for your blog today.

    Reply

  2. Spot on. It’s difficult time-wise, source/search-wise and in today’s economy, finance-wise, to eat food that is truly good for us. We changed our habits 3 years ago, w/hubby’s job downsized and him ‘out-sized’, so it’s often been a real sacrifice. But in those 3 years, I have had only one bout w/flu/cold symptoms. I was more of a ‘fanatic’ before our funds began to run low. Now, we (hubby and I) have chosen those things we believe bring us the most benefit and we stick with them while in other areas, at times, compromising. So far, it’s working by keeping us further away from the doctor’s office than in days gone by. 🙂 Keep up the good work, Friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

