School is in session!!

Guess what I’m doing??  Go ahead, guess…  <whistling>  Yeah, I know the title gave you a pretty big hint.  I’m taking an online farming class through our local extension office.  

I had read about the Elma C. Lomax Incubator Farm in a local publication and thought it was a very cool idea.  I never thought I’d be participating in it myself.  My husband had read about it, too, and kept pushing me to get more information about it and to find out how I could get started.  Last week I did just that.

After talking to our agriculture/horticulture extension agent, David Goforth, I took the next step and signed up for the online course, Farm Incubator Initial Training, and have been plugging right along.  So far I’ve learned about the potential start up costs of farming, how to research soil types and land development locally, sustainable soil practices, and now plant nutrient requirements.

Once I complete all 24 lessons in the online class, I will go through an application and interview process to hopefully get accepted into the actual Incubator Farm where I will be allocated 1/10 to 1/4 of an acre my first year farming there.  I will select what vegetables to grow, find a customer base to purchase my vegetables, start working on a business plan and learn more and more about the art of farming.  My next two years at the farm will give me a larger plot of 1/2 to 1 acre of farm land to work.

I am very excited about the potential to learn so much and make some really great connections with other folks aspiring to farm the land, too.

Leave a Reply

