Where do I start?

First of all, I can’t believe I haven’t posted in two months! I guess we’ve been busy… I’m still working on my online farming class, plugging along when I can. I’m not in as big of a rush to get a plot on the farm with so much going on right here on our own property. I have continued my education in other ways as well. I attended the “Growing Medicinal Herbs” workshop through Chatham County Extension, my sister and I participated in the Organic Growers School Spring Conference in Asheville, and I just recently learned how to inoculate oak logs with shiitake mushroom spawn.

And now, after two years, we finally got our first bee hive. I am absolutely in love with our bees. I don’t know what it is, but I have to peek at them any chance I get. Of course, it’s still VERY new as we just picked it up yesterday morning…

With spring springing, we are getting the garden ready, too. I started a bunch of seeds today including broccoli, cantaloupe, watermelon, luffa, roma tomatoes, German Johnson tomatoes, birdhouse gourds, hollyhocks, marigolds, poppies, three varieties of sunflowers, vitex, echinacea, lavender, and okra. I can’t wait to see those little sprouts stick their little heads up soon!

I will post some pics very, very soon. For now, I just wanted to let you know that we’re still plugging along at this whole homesteading thing, learning and growing.

Leave a Reply

